Multan to host Lahore in PSL-8 opener on Feb 13

The eighth edition of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) will begin on February 13 at the Multan Cricket Stadium where defending champions Lahore Qalandars will play against hosts Multan Sultans in the opening match while the final of the League will be played at the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore on Marc 19.

This was announced by Najam Sethi, chairman of the Pakistan Cricket Board’s management committee. He also¬† Najam Sethi while revealing the schedule of the PSL-8 in Lahore on Friday (January 20).

In all, 34 matches will be played during the 35-day tournament at four venues – the National Bank Cricket Arena (National Stadium), Karachi; Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore; Pindi Cricket Stadium, Rawalpindi; and Multan Cricket Stadium, Multan.

This is for the first time that the opening ceremony and the inaugural match of the PSL will be played in Multan. The second match will be played in Karachi between hosts Karachi Kings and Peshawar the next day.

The two cities will host matches until February 26, before the PSL shifts to Lahore and Rawalpindi. the final round-robin match in Lahore is scheduled to be played between Lahore Qalandars and Multan Sultans on March 4.

The closing ceremony and final of the tournament will be held on March 19 in Lahore, which will also host play-offs.

Karachi Kings, Lahore Qalandars, Multan Sultans and Islamabad United will play five home matches each, one against each side.

Rawalpindi will host 11 matches while Karachi and Lahore will stage nine fixtures each and Multan will have five home games.

Cricket lovers will see more than 36 foreign players from ten T20I playing countries in action during the eighth PSL.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *