Pakistan squad named for Test series in Sri Lanka, Yasir returns, Sajid dropped

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has announced on, June 22, the 18-member squad for the ICC World Championship series against Sri Lanka in July.

Leg-spinner Yasir Shah, after regaining full fitness, came back to the squad, which surprisingly missed the name of Sajid Khan, who had won the player of the series award in the last tour to Bangladesh.

Yasir last played for Pakistan in the 2021 away series against West Indies. He had grabbed a record tally of 24 wickets (19.33) to help Pakistan win the Test series 2-1 on their last tour of Sri Lanka in 2015.

Pakistan squad includes three openers, four middle-order batters, three allrounders, two wicketkeeper, two spinners and four fast bowlers.

The players will attend a seven-day training camp at Islamabad from June 26 to July 2, before departing for Sri Lanka on July 6.

Pakistan will play a three-day warm-up match on July 11-13 before the first Test to be held at Galle from July 16. The second Test will be staged at Colombo from July 24.

The squad: Babar Azam (captain), Mohammad Rizwan (vice-captain, wicketkeeper), Abdullah Shafique, Azhar Ali, Faheem Ashraf, Fawad Alam, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Nawaz, Naseem Shah, Nauman Ali, Salman Ali Agha, Sarfaraz Ahmed (wk), Saud Shakeel, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shan Masood and Yasir Shah.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.