Pakistan squads named for T20 World Cup and T20 series against England

The selection committee of the Pakistan Cricket Board announced on Thursday a 15-man squad for October’s T20 World Cup in Australia, and an 18-man squad for the seven-match T20 series against England starting September 20 in Karachi.

Recovering fast bowler Shaheen Shah Afridi and prolific batsman Shan Masood were included in the squad for T20 World Cup, while Shan will also be a part of T20 series. His inclusion is the only change from the Asia Cup squad with the man he replaced, Fakhar Zaman, being named as one of three travelling reserves for the World Cup while being omitted from England series.

Before travelling to Brisbane for the T20 World Cup, Pakistan will play in a T20I tri-series, including hosts New Zealand and Bangladesh, in Christchurch from October 7 to 14.

Pakistan will begin their T20 World Cup campaign with an October 23 fixture against arch-rivals India in Melbourne.

Former champions Pakistan are placed in Group 2 of the T20 World Cup with India, South Africa, Bangladesh and two qualifier teams, who will come from the first round.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.